Treasures - Chronic Joy

Treasures

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book!” – Jane Austen

 

 

Books and music are treasures that bring hope, encouragement, and joy to our spirits. We can be transported to exotic locations, be gently redirected when our souls are weary, be encouraged by the stories of others, or find simply beauty in a poem or song. 

Devotionals

Pearls of Great Price: 366 Daily Devotional Readings

Joni Eareckson Tada

Joni Eareckson Tada wants to help you become rich in faith and wealthy in hope. Some people focus on material treasures, but Joni reminds you that life’s true gems come from God―priceless pearls that are worth everything to purchase … and own. In the tradition of Diamonds in the Dust and More Precious Than Silver comes this book, Pearls of Great Price

Rhythms of Rest: Finding the Spirit of Sabbath in a Busy World

Shelly Miller

Sabbath-keeping not only brings physical refreshment, it restores the soul. God commands us to “remember the Sabbath,” but is it realistic in today’s fast-paced culture? In this warm and helpful book, Shelly Miller dispels legalistic ideas about Sabbath and shows how even busy people can implement a rhythm of rest into their lives–whether for an hour, a morning, or a whole day.

 

The Color of the Night

Gerhard E. Frost

This new release of Gerhard E. Frost’s classic The Color of the Night includes 86 short reflections inspired by the biblical Job.Each reflection begins with a quotation from Job and wrestles with the difficult issues that we face during times of crisis, such as trust in God, the meaning of life, and fairness in the world.With newly added questions for reflection and discussion, this thoughtful book is ideal for individual and group study in Lent (or any season) or for personal devotion.

 

Word by Word: A Daily Spiritual Practice Word by Word: A Daily Spiritual Practice

Marilyn McEntyre

Beautifully written meditations on fifteen well-chosen words In What’s in a Phrase? — winner of the 2015 Christianity Today Book Award in Spirituality — Marilyn McEntyre showed readers how brief scriptural phrases can evoke and invite. In Word by WordMcEntyre invites readers to dwell intentionally with single words — remembering their biblical and literary contexts, considering the personal associations they bring up, and allowing them to become a focus for prayer and meditation.

.

Peace in the Storm: Meditations on Chronic Pain and Illness

Maureen Pratt

Using a combination of Bible passages, her own observations and insights, and prayer, Pratt provides help on issues that include dealing with isolation, coping with medical expenses, and learning to say no. Written with unstinting honesty and humor, Peace in the Storm will help readers identify their own spiritual and physical needs.

A Grace Disguised: How the Soul Grows through Loss

Jerry Sittser

An expanded edition of this classic book on grief and loss―with a new preface and epilogueLoss came suddenly for Jerry Sittser. In an instant, a tragic car accident claimed three generations of his family: his mother, his wife, and his young daughter. While most of us will not experience such a catastrophic loss in our lifetime, all of us will taste it. And we can, if we choose, know as well the grace that transforms it. A Grace Disguised plumbs the depths of sorrow, whether due to illness, divorce, or the loss of someone we love.

 

I Will Carry You: The Sacred Dance of Grief and Joy

Angie Smith

In 2008,  and her husband Todd (lead singer of the group Selah) learned through ultrasound that their fourth daughter had conditions making her “incompatible with life.” Advised to terminate the pregnancy, the Smiths chose instead to carry this child and allow room for a miracle. That miracle came the day they met Audrey Caroline and got the chance to love her for the precious two-and-a-half hours she lived on earth.

 

Turn My Mourning into Dancing

Henri J.M. Nouwen

In times of suffering, simplistic answers ring empty and hollow. But Henri Nouwen, beloved spiritual thinker and author, offers real comfort in the concrete truth of God’s constancy. Nouwen suggests that by greeting life’s pains with something other than despair, we can find surprising joy in our suffering.

.

Inspirational

Life of the Beloved: Spiritual Living in a Secular World

Henri J.M. Nouwen

Initially written for a Jewish friend, Life of the Beloved has become Henri Nouwen’s greatest legacy to Christians around the world. This sincere testimony of the power and invitation of Christ is indeed a great guide to a truly uplifting spiritual life in today’s world.

50 Women Every Christian Should Know: Learning from Heroines of the Faith

Michelle DeRusha

Throughout history, countless women have boldly stepped out in faith and courage, leaving their indelible mark on those around them and on the kingdom of God. In lively prose Michelle DeRusha tells their stories, bringing into focus fifty incredible heroines of the faith.

 

Hinds Feet On High Places

Hannah Hurnard

Much-Afraid had been in the service of the Chief Shepherd, whose great flocks were pastured down in the Valley of Humiliation. She lived with her friends and fellow workers Mercy and Peace in a tranquil little white cottage in the village of Much-Trembling. She loved her work and desired intensely to please the Chief Shepherd, but happy as she was in most ways, she was conscious of several things which hindered her in her work and caused her much secret distress and shame. Here is the allegorical tale of Much-Afraid, an every-woman searching for guidance from God to lead her to a higher place.

 

Living Sacrifice

Helen Roseveare

What place does ‘sacrifice’ have in the modern world? The Bible says it is central – and that sacrifice is not only a vital key to the future, it is the essence of a Christian’s life, today. Dr. Helen Roseveare skillfully weaves stories of sacrifice together with Christian teaching on the subject to show you how sacrifice is the key to joy.

.

Music Inspired By The Story

Nichole Nordeman & Bernie Herms

THE STORY is an unparalleled project from the best-known artists in Christian music. The songs on THE STORY take timeless biblical stories and provide a completely new context into how God’s story of love and redemption intersects with our story of brokenness and failures resulting in a new story of hope and rescue. The CD contains 18 all-new songs written by multiple Dove Award-Winners Nichole Nordeman & Bernie Herms, produced by Brown Bannister & Bernie Herms, and a stellar line-up of artists across all major labels.

In Christ Alone

Keith & Kristyn Getty

“In Christ Alone” is the debut recording from Irish modern hymn-writers Keith & Kristyn Getty. The album features ten of Keith’s best-known hymns, as well as the bonus track “Don’t Let Me Lose My Wonder,” all sung for the first time by Kristyn, his wife.

 

Awaken The Dawn

Keith & Kristyn Getty

AWAKEN THE DAWN is a new collection of hymns and songs from Keith and Kristyn Getty. With a distinctly Irish flavor and shaped as a service of worship, this album takes you on a lyrical journey of grace and hope for all the nations.

 

Resurrection

Sons of Korah

This album brings a fresh energetic sound with some deeply reflective moments. It includes a wide range of instrumentation including resonator, mandolin, glissentar, piano accordian, cello, and flamenco guitar. It includes Psalms 125, 69, 95, 52, 67, 147b, 131, 80, 17, 65 and two instrumental tracks.

.

Poetry

Mountain Breezes

Amy Carmichael

An anthology of most of the poetry of Amy Carmichael – 565 poems gathered from her published books. The untitled poems were given titles and all were arranged by the editors under seven major headings: Worship, Petition, Surrender, Ministry, Wartime, Encouragement and Youthful Thoughts. 

Devotions: The Selected Poems of Mary Oliver

Mary Oliver

Throughout her celebrated career, Mary Oliver has touched countless readers with her brilliantly crafted verse, expounding on her love for the physical world and the powerful bonds between all living things. Identified as “far and away, this country’s best selling poet” by Dwight Garner, she now returns with a stunning and definitive collection of her writing from the last fifty years.

 

The Joy of Poetry: How to Keep, Save & Make Your Life with Poems

Megan Willome

Part memoir, part humorous and poignant defense of poetry, this is a book that shows you what it is to live a life with poems at your side (and maybe in your Topo Chico®). 

Megan Willome’s story is one you won’t want to put down; meanwhile, her uncanny ability to reveal the why’s and how’s of poetry keeps calling—to even the biggest poetry doubter. If you already enjoy poetry, her story and her wisdom and her ways will invite you to go deeper, with novel ideas on how to engage with poems. 

Consolations: The Solace, Nourishment and Underlying Meaning of Everyday Words

David Whyte

With the imagery of a poet and the reflection of a philosopher, David Whyte turns his attention to 52 ordinary words, each its own particular doorway into the underlying currents of human life.

.

Prayer Books

The Way of the Heart: Connecting with God Through Prayer, Wisdom, and Silence

Henri J.M. Nouwen

Inspired by the ancient teachings of St. Anthony and the Desert Fathers,The Way of the Heart clears before us a spiritual path consisting of three stepping-stones: Solitude (learning not to be alone but to be alone with God); Silence (the discipline by which the inner fire of God is tended and kept alive); and Prayer (standing in the presence of God with the mind in the heart).

Sacred Rhythms: Arranging Our Lives for Spiritual Transformation

Ruth Haley Barton

Do you long for a deep, fundamental change in your life with God? Do you desire a greater intimacy with God? Do you wonder how you might truly live your life as God created you to live it? Spiritual disciplines are activities that open us to God’s transforming love and the changes that only God can bring about in our lives. Picking up on the monastic tradition of creating a “rule of life” that allows for regular space for the practice of the spiritual disciplines, this book takes you more deeply into understanding seven key disciplines along with practical ideas for weaving them into everyday life. 

Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God

Timothy Keller

Christians are taught in their churches and schools that prayer is the most powerful way to experience God. But few receive instruction or guidance in how to make prayer genuinely meaningful. In Prayer, renowned pastor Timothy Keller delves into the many facets of this everyday act.

The Deep Place Where Nobody Goes: Conversations with God on the Steps of My Soul

Jill Briscoe

This collection of short stories, reflections, and poems from Jill Briscoe centers on the theme of our relationship with God, and how that relationship must be our daily priority in good times and bad.

Pass It On

Is there a great book or beautiful music that encourages or inspires you in your walk with chronic illness? Would you love to share that resource to ease another’s journey? Through Chronic Joy’s Pass It On program you can!

We will review submissions, and as accepted, add them to our website. Pass It On opens the door to community, making everyone’s journey a little easier knowing others have gone before us, blazing the trail, and sharing what’s been a blessing.

Some simple rules: we bend towards encouraging, inspiring, faith-based books and music. We love Jesus, and while that doesn’t mean every resource on our website is faith-based, it is a ministry foundation. We don’t accept submissions about specific medical treatments, products or services, or medical providers.

Do you have a great resource? Pass It On!

11 + 13 =

Pin It on Pinterest

Share with your friends!